Fourth Chakra Weakness- 5 Signs, 5 Solutions

Fourth Chakra Weakness- 5 Signs, 5 Solutions

“Seeking love keeps you from the awareness that you already are it.” – Byron Katie

The Fourth Chakra

The Fourth Chakra is sometimes called the Heart Chakra.  It is located along your spine right in the center of your chest next to your physical heart.  It deals with issues of love, compassion and belonging and it is weakened by all forms of grief, clinging and loneliness.  Physically, it supports your heart, lungs, upper torso, shoulders, arms and hands.

The Fourth Chakra lies directly in the middle position of the seven chakra ladder with three below and three above.  The three lower chakras are sometimes called the body chakras, and the three upper chakras are sometimes called the mind chakras.  The heart chakra is what links body and mind together.  It facilitates the balance of emotion with logic and the real with the ideal.


Five Signs Your Fourth Chakra is Weak

1) You are often guarded and closed and never or rarely allow yourself to open up to others and be authentic for fear of being hurt or rejected.

2) You are unable to let a situation rest, that didn’t go your way, until you have assigned fault to all you see as responsible.  You assign negative motive to everyone whose actions impact you, judging their actions as intentional.

3) Your relationships are characterized by you being clingy  and needy and anxious that your partner doesn’t need you as much as you need them.

4) Your expressions of love for another person are conditioned upon them conforming to your expectations of how they should be.  As long as they do, all is well.  As soon as they don’t, you get upset or offended and react with aggressive or passive aggressive moves to try to manipulate them back into conforming to your expectations. You see a need to try to fix other people and often try to do so.

5) You experience any of the following physical symptoms on a frequent or chronic basis:  heart disorders, chest pain, asthma, allergies, pneumonia, bronchitis, emphysema, breast lumps/cysts, circulation problems, tension/pain between the shoulder blades, shoulder, arm or hand problems or carpal tunnel.


Five Things You Can Do To Strengthen Your Fourth Chakra

1) Reflection: Reflect to see if you have what I call the Jonah syndrome which is that attitude of “mercy for me, justice for you.”  This refers to the story of Jonah who ran away from his responsibility and ended up being swallowed by a whale. He prayed for mercy and was given a second chance. Then after the people of Tarsus changed their ways and were not destroyed, Jonah was angry at God for not punishing them.

[bctt tweet=”The Jonah Syndrome: Mercy For Me, Justice For You.” via=”no”] [bctt tweet=”Let justice take care of itself- it doesn’t need your help. Desire mercy for all, including yourself. ” via=”no”]

2) Redefinition: Turn an annoyance into a reminder of privilege.

For example, a messy home that was just cleaned yesterday can be seen as a visible sign of how privileged you are to have kids at home who make messes.  Or maybe you get annoyed by a spouse who squeezes the toothpaste tube in the middle or leaves the toilet seat up. Next time you get annoyed, catch yourself and see it as a reminder of how privileged you are to have them in your life.

[bctt tweet=”Anything that annoys you can trigger gratitude. This is true alchemy, the turning of the base into the precious.” via=”no”]

3) Sound Vibration:  Intone the “ay” vowel sound using the word “raise” and feel the vibration in your fourth chakra (heart area) as you hold out the “ay” sound and imagine a bright green light radiating from your fourth chakra and sending healing and balancing energy to your lungs, heart, upper torso, arms and hands. The word raise also has meaning related to the heart chakra. Think of raising your sights beyond outside appearances to the deeper potential within all, including you.

4) Fourth Chakra Breath: Do the “Ten/Ten/Ten Breath.”   Inhale slowly and deeply for a count of ten, then hold the breath in for a count of ten and then slowly exhale for a count of ten.  Repeat for as many cycles as you want. This is a balancing breath that helps restore balance of body and mind.

5) Fourth Chakra Yoga Asana: Perform the “Sliding Doors” yoga asana (see illustration).

Asana 4 Sliding doors

Sit cross legged on the floor.  Press your palms together in front of your chest as shown.  Now, with force, extend your arms out, palms facing away like two sliding doors opening from the center.   Exhale with force as your arms go out, almost as if you are trying to break a board on each side with the heels of your palms.  Breath in as you return your palms to the starting position.  Begin a rather rapid back and forth motion bringing your palms together and clapping them as you breath in, and then extending them out and you breath out.  Go for thirty to sixty seconds at about one cycle per second.  If you want to challenge yourself, try going for two to three minutes doing this.